Banner image of City

Your Protection.

There is no substitute for experience when it comes to criminal law

A primer on Arizona DUI laws

by | Aug 10, 2016 | Uncategorized |

Driving under the influence is one of those crimes you think you can get away with because it can be so inconvenient to go out for a couple of drinks after work and then not be able to drive home.  Or to go to a college or pro football game and tailgate before and after the Cards or the Sun Devils post a big win.  Or to simply spend the evening at a friend’s house drinking a bit too much wine before driving just a couple of miles to the safe confines of your own home.

But the fact of the matter is the DUI is a serious crime.  People can die from your negligence if you get behind the wheel and drive after having too much to drink.

In some cases, an experienced DUI attorney can defend you from charges and sometimes effectively plea bargain down a sentence, especially if you have no prior convictions or if there was no loss of life, no injuries to people, and no damage to property.

Here are some of the basics you need to know about when it comes to Arizona’s DUI laws.

If you are under 21, there is a zero tolerance for being charged with DUI.  Anything other than 0.0% in your blood will earn charges against you.  If you are a commercial driver, the limit is 0.04%,and if you are 21 or older, you can be charged when your blood alcohol level rises above 0.08%.

First-time offenders face a minimum of 24 hours and up to 10 days in jail, a $250 base fine and a suspended license of up to 360 days.  Second offenses raise jail time to up to 90 days, a $500 base fine and a suspended license for one year.

Arizona also has an implied consent law which means if you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you can be fined and face an automatic license suspension for one year for a first offense and two years for subsequent offenses.

Arizona’s Extreme DUI law applies to people with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.15% or higher.  Persons convicted of an Extreme DUI are convicted of a criminal misdemeanor and face serious fines, a license revocation of one year and the installation and use of an interlock ignition device.

Ryan Garvey Attorneys proudly serves the cities of Phoenix, Scottsdale, Glendale, Tempe, Mesa and surrounding Arizona communities.