Arizona has severe penalties for domestic violence offenses. If a court convicts you of this crime, it can significantly affect your life.
It is vital to understand the charges you face, the laws in your state and your potential defense options to protect your rights, freedom and future.
Domestic violence charges under Arizona law
The state of Arizona defines domestic violence as any violent act or harmful crime that someone commits against another person with whom they share a domestic relationship.
Some violent crimes include:
- Criminal damage
- Assault or aggravated assault
- Child endangerment or abuse
A domestic violence charge is not a crime by itself but an additional charge you face if you have a domestic relationship with the alleged victim, such as:
- People living in the same household
- Spouses or ex-spouses
- Family members related by blood, marriage or law
- Current or previous sexual or romantic partners
Consequences of a domestic violence conviction
Domestic violence sentences depend on the severity of the incident and if you are a repeat offender. Many crimes of this kind are misdemeanors with consequences ranging from 30-180 days in jail, $500-$2500 in fines and 1-3 years of probation.
Felony charges may apply if your case is a third offense or involves sexual assault or negligent homicide claims. You can receive a fine of up to $150,000 and a prison sentence of up to 36 months. A felony conviction can impact many areas of your life, including your ability to vote, own a firearm, gain employment and get an education. You may also face potential deportation, lose child custody rights, and obtain a permanent criminal record.
A domestic violence conviction can change everything. Defending your rights in court requires a thorough knowledge of the laws and defense options.